Skip to content

I’m Over Metra

August 30, 2013

I'm Over Metra

After many weeks of the Metra Kenosha line getting me reliably to and from work in Evanston I have to part ways with this marriage of convenience. There was no big falling out or anything, just a realization that we have grown apart. The price was right but the timing has slowly become all wrong. Now that Farmhouse Evanston is cranking into the wee hours of the night there’s just no way to catch the train before 12:58 a.m. to come home, and that’s if I catch it at all! Last night, for the last time I inconvenienced my family and had my brother pick me up from work at 1:15 a.m. We didn’t get home until almost 2:00 a.m. due to a traffic accident on 94, and that’s when I made my mind up. Driving has its costs, there is maintenance, and I’ll need new tires in three or four thousand miles. The ability to make one’s own schedule is far worth these costs and I’ve made up my mind…….good bye Metra

Metra Train

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

