Skip to content

Confused by the Cure

June 1, 2013

Confused by the Cure

Yesterday after the third bout of diarrhea in a month I took my dog to the vet expecting the problem to be a parasite or infection. Ruby has been on a very expensive grain free diet for nearly a year now from Blue Buffalo. This is one of the higher end dog foods and it contains glucosamine, chondroitin, MSM, and Omega 3’s. I figured it was appropriate considering my animal’s history with joint surgery as it is good to have small amounts these supplements consumed with every meal. I also considered it a good food because in the wild, dogs would almost never eat grains, maybe only in small quantities from the stomachs of prey items like rodents etc.

I guess I was wrong to try to match up my dogs physiology and evolutionary history with her diet. Dog’s teeth tell us they are carnivores and like I mentioned before, carnivores don’t eat things like rice and corn. My vet told me it was most likely some reaction to the food, and that we were going to try a Purina brand veterinarian prescribed food. After looking at the label I saw that it contained a lot of grain products, but with them comes a ton of fiber. He explained that the fiber keeps the food around a bit longer in the gastrointestinal tract, something I never considered. Things seem to be better and she’s now back to her old self in just twenty four hours! Now I just have to figure out how to give her joint supplements that she doesn’t pick out of the food or whatever treat I try to hide them in. There are some disadvantages to having a smart dog like my Ruby.

There are many varieties of commercial dog foo...

There are many varieties of commercial dog food to choose from. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3 Comments
  1. Liz Lupton permalink

    have you tried peanut butter?

    • I have, she just sifts through whatever you put the pill in until she finds it and spits it out. If you try crushing the pills, she just smells it and walks away because she knows it will taste bad. So far the only way I’ve gotten her to take pills is by force. I have to open her mouth, place the pill on the back of her tongue, than hold her mouth closed while I scratch her throat. This has got to be as much work as having a kid at this point!

  2. Liz Lupton permalink

    Haha, I feel like I have three kids sometimes. I have a similar problem with my dog, so I ended up doing the same thing with the peanut butter. I just put the pill in the peanut butter and put it in the back of his mouth and he usually just swallows it.

Leave a Reply

